DERA ISMAIL KHAN: Four policemen were martyred and three others, including a station house officer (SHO), were injured in an exchange of fire with unidentified gunmen in Khyber Paktunkhwa’s Dera Ismail Khan district on Tuesday.

According to police, the firing incident took place in Parua Tehsil of DI Khan. The martyred policemen have been identified as Constable Sarfaraz, Mirbaz, Asif and driver Javed.

Station House Officer (SHO) Tahir Nawaz and two passers-by sustained injuries in the shootout and have been shifted to a hospital.